Full Armor Gravitation [DM04]

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters
DM03 ~ DM05
User avatar
Tournament Moderator
Tournament Moderator
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:33 am

BYOND:
Amber Lee
Ace Card:
Madolche Puddingcess
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:09 pm
[Full Armor Gravitation]

Image

Pick up the top 10 cards of your Deck. Special Summon as many Armor monsters as possible from among those cards, in the order they were picked up, then remove the remaining cards from play. (You must have an Armor monster in your Main Deck to activate this card.)

Rulings:

  • The 10 cards picked up by this effect must be revealed to the opponent. (See: Excavate)
  • You cannot activate this card if "Vanity's Emptiness" is in play. If you activate this card and "Vanity's Emptiness" is chained, you will pick up the top 10 cards, then they all will be banished.
  • If "Imperial Iron Wall" is in play, the remaining cards that were not Special Summoned will be sent to the graveyard. *mistake*
  • You cannot activate this card if "Imperial Iron Wall" is in play. If "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained, you will still pick up and Special Summon, but because cards cannot be banished, the remaining cards will be sent to the graveyard.
Last edited by Madolche Amber Lee on Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 4339
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:57 pm

BYOND:
ChicoBDA
Ace Card:
Rescue Cat
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:22 pm
Explanation for the third ruling? Seems weird to me.
User avatar
Tournament Moderator
Tournament Moderator
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:33 am

BYOND:
Amber Lee
Ace Card:
Madolche Puddingcess
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:37 pm
ChicoBDA wrote:Explanation for the third ruling? Seems weird to me.


Imperial Iron Wall forbids banishing, so Full Armor Gravitation cannot banish the remaining cards. They have no choice but to be sent to the graveyard by game mechanic.
User avatar
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:46 pm

BYOND:
Number 9 Dyson Sphere
Ace Card:
Number 9 Dyson Sphere
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:38 pm
I'm assuming she's using Quillbolt and Plaguespreader as references.

Only problem is, they work differently. Quillbolt and Plaguespreader have conditions placed on them, they aren't part of the effect. As such, IIW overrides that condition and sends them to the grave instead.

Here, however, the banishing is part of the effect resolution. If cards can't be banished, the card cannot resolve properly, and can't be activated in the first place as a result. Likewise, if IIW is chained to the activation, Full Armor Gravitation cannot resolve properly, so it resolves without effect.
User avatar
Tournament Moderator
Tournament Moderator
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:33 am

BYOND:
Amber Lee
Ace Card:
Madolche Puddingcess
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:52 pm
DysonSlinky wrote:I'm assuming she's using Quillbolt and Plaguespreader as references.

Only problem is, they work differently. Quillbolt and Plaguespreader have conditions placed on them, they aren't part of the effect. As such, IIW overrides that condition and sends them to the grave instead.

Here, however, the banishing is part of the effect resolution. If cards can't be banished, the card cannot resolve properly, and can't be activated in the first place as a result. Likewise, if IIW is chained to the activation, Full Armor Gravitation cannot resolve properly, so it resolves without effect.


Actually it will resolve just fine. Full Armor represents two effects that occur in sequence, and the second effect here is not required for the first effect. As such, even if Iron Wall is chained, you will still pick and Special Summon whatever you can.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 4339
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:57 pm

BYOND:
ChicoBDA
Ace Card:
Rescue Cat
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:24 pm
You cannot activate this card if "Imperial Iron Wall" is in play. If "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained, you will still pick up and Special Summon, but because cards cannot be banished, the remaining cards will be sent to the graveyard.


This is your updated ruling. I still disagree. If they can't be banished, nothing happens. Sending them to the Graveyard is not a replacement of banishing. They should stay in the Deck in their respective order.
User avatar
Tournament Moderator
Tournament Moderator
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:33 am

BYOND:
Amber Lee
Ace Card:
Madolche Puddingcess
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:39 pm
ChicoBDA wrote:You cannot activate this card if "Imperial Iron Wall" is in play. If "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained, you will still pick up and Special Summon, but because cards cannot be banished, the remaining cards will be sent to the graveyard.


This is your updated ruling. I still disagree. If they can't be banished, nothing happens. Sending them to the Graveyard is not a replacement of banishing. They should stay in the Deck in their respective order.


No they shouldn't. A picked up card that cannot go to the location its being sent, must be sent to the graveyard instead.

"When resolving the effects of "Magical Merchant" and "Cyber Jar", if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, you send to the Graveyard the card(s) which would be added to your hand."
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 4339
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:57 pm

BYOND:
ChicoBDA
Ace Card:
Rescue Cat
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:58 pm
Madolche Amber Lee wrote:
ChicoBDA wrote:You cannot activate this card if "Imperial Iron Wall" is in play. If "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained, you will still pick up and Special Summon, but because cards cannot be banished, the remaining cards will be sent to the graveyard.


This is your updated ruling. I still disagree. If they can't be banished, nothing happens. Sending them to the Graveyard is not a replacement of banishing. They should stay in the Deck in their respective order.


No they shouldn't. A picked up card that cannot go to the location its being sent, must be sent to the graveyard instead.

"When resolving the effects of "Magical Merchant" and "Cyber Jar", if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, you send to the Graveyard the card(s) which would be added to your hand."


I highly doubt you can conclude that statement from the single ruling you found. Sending something to the Graveyard because it cannot be banished, even if it wouldn't go to the Graveyard otherwise, is something I have never seen before.
User avatar
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:46 pm

BYOND:
Number 9 Dyson Sphere
Ace Card:
Number 9 Dyson Sphere
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:00 pm
The Vanity's ruling is still wrong.
See: Reasoning, Monster Gate

If Vanity is chained in response to the card, no cards are excavated.

When resolving "Monster Gate", if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is being applied, since you cannot Special Summon any monster, no card is excavated from the Deck. (Cards are not sent to the Graveyard and no monster is Special Summoned.) When resolving "Reasoning", if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is being applied, since you cannot Special Summon any monster, no card is excavated from the Deck. (Cards are not sent to the Graveyard and no monster is Special Summoned.)[4]

Only differences between Reasoning and This, is that the SS and Banishing are not simultaneous, which shouldn't matter for this anyway.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 4339
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:57 pm

BYOND:
ChicoBDA
Ace Card:
Rescue Cat
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:19 pm
Slinky seems to be right.
Next

Return to 1st Generation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron