Full Armor Gravitation [DM04]

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters
DM03 ~ DM05
User avatar
Tournament Moderator
Tournament Moderator
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:33 am

BYOND:
Amber Lee
Ace Card:
Madolche Puddingcess
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:47 pm
When resolving "Monster Gate", if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is being applied, since you cannot Special Summon any monster, no card is excavated from the Deck. (Cards are not sent to the Graveyard and no monster is Special Summoned.)[4]

If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, then you cannot activate "Pot of Duality". Also, if an effect is Chained to "Pot of Duality" and Special Summons "Thunder King Rai-Oh", then when resolving "Pot of Duality" you still reveal the top three cards of your Deck. You select one card to be added to your hand and send it to the Graveyard instead, and shuffle the remaining two cards into your Deck.[8]



Full Armor's text relates perfectly with Pot of Duality, which is "also, after that". It excavates and Special Summons (at resolution), then it banishes the remaining cards afterwards. If a Thunder King being summoned before resolution of Duality still permits Duality to excavate the top cards, there's no reason why a Vanity chained to Monster Gate/Reasoning would not allow excavating. There's an obvious inconsistency here. Or a case of BKSS.
User avatar
Envoy of Infinity
Envoy of Infinity
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:46 pm

BYOND:
Number 9 Dyson Sphere
Ace Card:
Number 9 Dyson Sphere
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:00 pm
Konami has contradictions all the time. You shouldn't be surprised about this.

And if you believe the text to mirror "Also, after that". It implies the Special summon needs to occur in order for the banish to occur, as that is the wording used to signify "Do A, then do B" but aren't done simultaenously. And that clearly isn't the case since all 10 cards would be banished regardless if they were all spells and traps
User avatar
Tournament Moderator
Tournament Moderator
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:33 am

BYOND:
Amber Lee
Ace Card:
Madolche Puddingcess
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:17 pm
DysonSlinky wrote:Konami has contradictions all the time. You shouldn't be surprised about this.

And if you believe the text to mirror "Also, after that". It implies the Special summon needs to occur in order for the banish to occur, as that is the wording used to signify "Do A, then do B" but aren't done simultaenously. And that clearly isn't the case since all 10 cards would be banished regardless if they were all spells and traps


I'm aware of occasional contradictions. I'm not going to change a ruling (that has a logical precedent) just because one other ruling does it differently. BKSS is always taken with a grain of salt.

And you're wrong. "Also, after that" implies that the former and latter effect occur in sequence, and are entirely independent of one another. "Do A, then do B" is completely different. Please be more versed in PSCT.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 4337
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:57 pm

BYOND:
ChicoBDA
Ace Card:
Rescue Cat
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:27 pm
We do we pretend this card has PSCT?
Previous

Return to 1st Generation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest