[REFERENCE] The Official GCG Rulings topic

Read Only
Rules for the game & forums, as well as some handy guides and articles.
User avatar
Master of Momentum
Master of Momentum
Posts: 750
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:54 pm

BYOND:
Valentine
Ace Card:
Stardust Dragon
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:48 pm
oppression vs exceeds?
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:52 pm
Exceed Summoning is confirmed to be a kind of Special Summon. Additionally, it was also confirmed that negating an Exceed Summon will not make the Exceed Materials leave the field. Pirate Hitler might not have lost to the Crowler Cosplayer if he hadn't used Solemn Judgment on that Exceed.

"I Exceed Summon a monster that can't kill you!"

"I play Solemn Judgment!"

"The Exceed Materials are still in play, and they have 50 more points than you do. Attack!"
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:32 pm

BYOND:
Shepardj
Ace Card:
Voltic Bicorn
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:35 pm
Because it came up in today's ST, Fleur de Vertige.

Activate when a monster is Special Summoned. Remove it from play.

It doesn't work like Bottomless, correct? It says "a monster," therefore meaning if multiple monsters were Special Summoned at the same time, it wouldn't be able to activate, right?

Have to know if the ruling I gave out today was correct.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:18 pm
The trigger is worded the same as Torrential Tribute. It will only remove 1 monster from play, though. My guess is also that it targets, like Trap Hole.

Short version: I believe that it CAN be activated when multiple monsters are Summoned, but it targets 1 of them.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:32 pm

BYOND:
Shepardj
Ace Card:
Voltic Bicorn
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:47 pm
That makes me feel bad. I figured since it wasn't worded like Bottomless with the "monster(s)" clause, it couldn't be activated when multiple monsters were summoned.

It was the ruling I gave out, at least.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:54 pm
Live and learn, and don't worry about it.

Satellite Trash
Satellite Trash
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 2:06 pm

BYOND:
K-xero
Ace Card:
Quickdraw Synchron
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:04 pm
Question on Shooting Quasar Dragon

'This card is unaffected by the effects of your opponent's monsters.'

does this apply while in grave?

if so, can shooting star dragon negate the nuke effect?
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:24 pm
Unless an effect says it is applied in the Graveyard, such as Cyber Dragon Zwei's or Harpie Queen's effects, then it only applies on the field.

As for the nuke effect, Shooting Star Dragon is Special Summoned AFTER the nuke, so it doesn't matter. If you already have Shooting Star Dragon on the field, and I can't think of a single reason why you would, then yes, it can as long as its effects aren't being negated.
User avatar
Rising Duelist
Rising Duelist
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:48 am
Location: Hell
BYOND:
The Philosiraptor
Ace Card:
Shooting Quasar Dragon
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:28 am
Wolfgang DelaSangre wrote:Unless an effect says it is applied in the Graveyard, such as Cyber Dragon Zwei's or Harpie Queen's effects, then it only applies on the field.

As for the nuke effect, Shooting Star Dragon is Special Summoned AFTER the nuke, so it doesn't matter. If you already have Shooting Star Dragon on the field, and I can't think of a single reason why you would, then yes, it can as long as its effects aren't being negated.


I think he means using Shooting Star Dragon to stop the Nuke Effect of an enemy Shooting Quasar Dragon. Other than that, the ruling is spot on. xD

Satellite Trash
Satellite Trash
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:46 am
Location: Lima, Perú
BYOND:
Cejas96Peru
Ace Card:
my skill
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:40 am
if i have gozen match or rivalry of warlords can my opponent tribtue a treeborn frog tu summon a caius or a raiza?
PreviousNext

Return to Rules, Guides & Articles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron