The Official GCG Rulings topic. (Anime/GCG rules & FAQs)

Read Only
Rules for the game & forums, as well as some handy guides and articles.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 3553
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:46 pm
Location: The Internet
BYOND:
Kochen
Ace Card:
Elemental Hero Yamato
Guild:
Ventlemens Club
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:34 pm
The Official GCG Rulings topic.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A gold colored name means the ruling was decided by Master GM.

A pink colored name means the ruling has been approved by a Ruling Moderator and is the current official ruling(s) for that card. (These people for the time being are Shepardj, Jem Gryphonkin, Karujin, Kochen, Tri Fox and Wolfgang DelaSangre)

A purple colored name means the ruling has been approved by a capable Tournament Moderator and is the current official ruling(s) for that card. (The people for the time being are Elle_Pendragon, Latoma, Messi999, Silver41, RaptureDragon and LuKe_AA)


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Primary GCG Rules and Game Mechanics

Universal Game Rules: Cards in this game are to be used in conjunction with their real world rulings where applicable. In the case of a conflict between a TCG ruling and an OCG ruling, the OCG ruling will take precedence.

Priority on Ignition Effects does not exist on DMG.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Card Rulings

Code Change:

  • You can only use this effect against a card that specifically lists at least 1 Monster type (so you cannot use it to change a type declared by Array of Revealing Light).
  • You can use the effect to change an effect that targets a specific Monster Type to a different type. In which case, the target is no longer valid and the effect is not applied. For example, if Book of Life's effect targets a Zombie in your graveyard, and Code Change changes the type on it to Dragon, the original target is no longer valid, so the monster is not Summoned (however, the opponent's card is removed from play, as normal).
  • You can use the effect to change a restriction against a specific Type to a different type. For example, you can use Code Change to allow Debris Dragon to be used for a Synchro Summon of a monster of a different type you choose.
  • You cannot use this effect to change the type listed in describing a Token or the card itself. So you cannot change the type of Rose Tokens from Black Garden or Zoma the Skull.
  • You can chain Code Change to an effect whose cost requires a specific type of monster. However, the effect is already activated, so the effect will resolve as normal (unless the effect requires those same type monster during resolution).
  • If a card lists multiple different types of Monsters, all of them are changed to the declared type.
  • If a card lists a single type multiple times, all of those instances are changed. For example, if you change Fairy to Dragon on the text of Athena, you must send 1 Dragon-type monster as a cost and Special Summon 1 Dragon-type monster for the effect.
[Darkblade]

Final Light: If a monster is summoned by the effect of Final Light that prevents your opponent from special summoning, your opponent will still be able to summon a monster. [ShadowLord]

Force of Four: When a player is forced to draw until they have a certain number of cards in hand, they will do so once, and then reduce their hand size down to 4. They will not keep drawing and reducing in tandem. Each action is only performed a single time. [Tri Fox]

Gingerbread House: If a monster's original ATK is 2500 or higher, or its ATK has been increased to 2500 or higher by another card effect(s) and then targeted by the effect of Gingerbread House to increase it's attack, it will not be destroyed by the secondary effect of Gingerbread House.
  • The second effect of Gingerbread House is a Continuous Effect that resolves during the resolution of the first effect, which is a Trigger Effect.
[Darkblade]

Monster Register:

  • The effect of "Monster Register" goes on a chain immediately after a monster is Summoned. As a mandatory Trigger Effect, "Monster Register" is always on the chain before optional Trigger Effects (“Mobius the Frost Monarch”) or chained Spell & Trap Cards (“Trap Hole”).
  • The player that special summons the monster will send the cards from their deck, not the card's controller. So if a player summons a monster while their Black Garden is in play and Rose Tokens are summoned to the field, the player who controls Black Garden will send cards from the top of their deck to the graveyard, since they special summon the Tokens to the field. (Player A summons a monster with Monster Register and Black Garden on the field, their monsters attack is cut in half. Player A then summons Rose Tokens to their opponent's field, Player A mills 2 cards for the Rose Tokens due to Monster Register. Player A then mills cards for their monster. )
  • Monster Register will not prevent monsters from being summoned if there are 0 cards in the deck.
  • If a card is preventing cards from the deck being sent to the graveyard, Monster Register will activate, however it will not mill cards when monsters are summoned. If a card is making cards that would be sent to the graveyard RFG instead, all affected players can still summon, the cards will be removed from play instead.
  • If a monster's summon is negated, you do not mill cards for Monster Register.
  • If multiple monsters are summoned at once, the effect of Monster Register is not applied to those monsters.
[Kochen]

Scab Scar-Knight:

  • If two Scab Scar-Knights are summoned simultaneously, both Scab Scar-Knights will be destroyed. If at any point, 2 Scab Scar-Knights exist on the field at the same time, both are destroyed. (If an effect that negates effects is active on the field, then 2 Scab Scar-Knights may exist on the field at once, however once the effect is removed, both Scab Scar-Knights are destroyed.)
  • Scab Scar-Knight does not force the Battle Phase, and your opponent is only forced to attack it while in Attack Position.
  • Scab Scar-Knight's effect to place a Scab Counter is activated at the end of the damage calculation.
  • Scab Scar-Knight's effect that takes control of monsters at the end of the Battle Phase is optional, it can be used at the end of either player's Battle Phase, and the controller of Scab Scar-Knight chooses how many monsters will be taken by the effect. You cannot choose to take control of more monsters than you have monster card zones with the effect of Scab Scar-Knight.
  • When effect damage is changed into an increase in Life Points through the effect of Prime Material Dragon, and Scab Scar-Knight is on the field, both effects are continuous; Prime Material Dragon changes the damage into an increase in Life Points, and Scab Scar-Knight negates any increase in Life Points. No effect damage is done, and no Life Points are gained.
  • When an increase in Life Points would occur while Scab Scar-Knight and Bad Reaction to Simochi are active on the field, if Scab Scar-Knight was on the field first, then the increase in Life Points is negated. If Bad Reaction to Simochi was active on the field first then the Life Point values are changed to damage before Scab Scar-Knight could negate them.
[[Eiza]]

Take Over 5

  • Sending 5 cards from your Deck to the Graveyard is part of its effect. It is not a Cost.
  • -If Take Over 5 is not activated when it is sent to the graveyard (for example, if it is sent to the graveyard by Tuning), then you cannot use its effect to draw a card. That is because the "next Standby Phase" is relative to when you activated Take Over 5, not from when it hit the graveyard.
  • -If you do not use Take Over 5's effect to draw a card during your next Standby Phase, you cannot use that copy's effect to draw a card.
  • Take Over 5's effect to negate the effects of your cards that sends cards from your deck to the graveyard is always active while it's in the graveyard, regardless of if you activated Take Over 5 or not.
  • Take Over 5's effect to negate the effects of your cards that sends cards from your deck to the graveyard, only negates the effects sending the cards. Other effects that are not part of the effect sending cards to the graveyard will still activate.
  • Take Over 5 will NOT negate the effects of cards that send cards from the deck to the graveyard as costs.

[Darkblade]

Temporal Machine God Razion: The effect that inflicts damage when your opponent draws cards in their draw phase, is inflicted per instance of drawing cards, not per each card drawn. (That is to say, if your opponent draws 2 cards during their Draw Phase for Hand Destruction, they will only receive 1000 damage, because the cards are drawn at the same time.) [Kochen]

White Warrior - Snow the Rope Dart: When this card activates its effect it will return to the hand of it's current controller. (The person whose monster card zone it's in) [Kochen]

Volcanic Mine: Volcanic Mine will negate the effects of all monsters your opponent controls for the duration of the turn. [Kochen]

Yomi Ghoul:

  • This card's effect to destroy monsters on your field only works if "Yomi Ghoul" itself was destroyed and sent from the field to the Graveyard.
  • The effect that destroys all monsters you control is Continuous. It becomes active immediately when Yomi Ghoul is destroyed and sent from your field to your Graveyard, and remains active as long as it stays in the Graveyard.
    Source: Earthbound Immortal self-destruct effect; see ruling on replacing Field Spells
  • If you activate Call of the Haunted or a similar card as Chain Link 2 or higher while Yomi Ghoul's second effect is active, the monster summoned by Call of the Haunted is destroyed immediately after you resolve that Chain Link.
    Source: See Exodia rulings.
  • The second effect of Yomi Ghoul cannot be negated by The End of Anubis or Forbidden Graveyard because it does not "activate". So if Yomi Ghoul was destroyed on your field and sent to your Graveyard while The End of Anubis is in play, the effect to inflict damage will be negated, but any other monsters you have on the field will still be destroyed.
[Wolfgang]

Yomi Boat Watchman:

  • This card's effect to Special Summon a "Yomi" monster when your opponent attacks cannot be activated unless Yomi Boat Watchman itself was destroyed and sent from the field to the Graveyard.
[Wolfgang]

Zero Machine Ain:

  • This card's effect that lets you Summon a Level 10 or higher monster without Tribute does not start a Chain.
[UnknownDuelist]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Under new management. Look forward to updates soon.
Last edited by Kochen on Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:55 am, edited 3 times in total.

Head Admin
Head Admin
Posts: 2597
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:26 pm

BYOND:
SwiftBlackNinjaMan
Ace Card:
Catapult Turtle
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:57 am
Original discussions are archived in other thread. Continue your ruling inquiries/discussion/debates/whatever as normal. Thanks. Was split to concentrate on newer rulings/issues that have not been hashed out yet so that people who are new to the thread do not get referred to some obscure post on page 32 for asking questions.
User avatar
Super Special Awsome
Super Special Awsome
Posts: 1063
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:10 pm

BYOND:
serph3
Ace Card:
chiron the mage
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:45 pm
whats the ruling on R plant ? do you need a material to be RFG from field or not?
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:30 pm

BYOND:
Darkblade986
Ace Card:
Fabled Raven
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:27 pm
Wikia:
Recycling Plant
Remove from play, from your side of the field or your Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a Machine-Type Fusion Monster Card, and Special Summon that Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck. (This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.) At least 1 Fusion Material Monster must be removed from your Graveyard.

Overload Fusion
Remove from play, from your side of the field or your Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a DARK Machine-Type Fusion Monster Card, and Special Summon that 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck. (This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.)


IN-GAME
Recycling Plant
Remove from play from your field and Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a Machine-Type Fusion Monster Card, and Special Summon that Fusion Monster from your Fusion Deck. (This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.) At least 1 Fusion Material Monster must be removed from your Graveyard.

By the current wording in-game, YES. It does say to remove from both the field AND graveyard, so at least 1 has to come from there at the moment. If the text is updated to say "field OR graveyard," like Overload Fusion does, then the answer becomes no.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 2009
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: Location: Location:
BYOND:
InCinErator
Ace Card:
King Tiger Wanghu
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:34 pm
darkblade986 wrote:Wikia:
Recycling Plant
Remove from play, from your side of the field or your Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a Machine-Type Fusion Monster Card, and Special Summon that Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck. (This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.) At least 1 Fusion Material Monster must be removed from your Graveyard.

Overload Fusion
Remove from play, from your side of the field or your Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a DARK Machine-Type Fusion Monster Card, and Special Summon that 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck. (This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.)


IN-GAME
Recycling Plant
Remove from play from your field and Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a Machine-Type Fusion Monster Card, and Special Summon that Fusion Monster from your Fusion Deck. (This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.) At least 1 Fusion Material Monster must be removed from your Graveyard.

By the current wording in-game, YES. It does say to remove from both the field AND graveyard, so at least 1 has to come from there at the moment. If the text is updated to say "field OR graveyard," like Overload Fusion does, then the answer becomes no.


I don't understand how the "and" part would even be logical to use in-game at the moment. Wouldn't "and" also imply that you have to have all the fusion material monsters in the graveyard AND all of the fusion material monsters on the field? I could be looking at it wrong, but "and" doesn't make sense to use by any means. I don't think it would imply that just at least one has to be on the field is all.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:30 pm

BYOND:
Darkblade986
Ace Card:
Fabled Raven
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:14 pm
The "and" would be used in the sense that Mind Master is using it. You don't have a choice between paying 800 Life Points and Tributing 1 Psychic-Type Monster, you do both (hence the "and").
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 6:40 pm
Supporting that. You must use cards from both the field and Graveyard. You cannot use cards from only one or the other. At least one card must be from the field and at least one must be from the Graveyard.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:10 am
Location: Location:
BYOND:
Tri Fox
Ace Card:
Archlord Christia
Guild:
Overworld
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:49 pm
Entire conversation is moot as UD is changing RP's text in the next update to not be a second copy of Overload Fusion.
User avatar
Super Special Awsome
Super Special Awsome
Posts: 1063
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:10 pm

BYOND:
serph3
Ace Card:
chiron the mage
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 6:02 pm
add the rulings for Dark Summoning Beast

You can Tribute this face-up card to Special Summon 1 "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames", "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder" or "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms" from your Graveyard, ignoring any Summoning conditions. You cannot declare an attack during the turn you use this effect.


i keep finding people who try to summon them directly from grave without summoning properly first
and it cant be done (level modulation ruling)
User avatar
Game Admin
Game Admin
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:02 am
Location: The Different Dimension
BYOND:
JemGryphonkin
Ace Card:
Gren Maju Da Eiza
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:36 am
Is the mill on Power Wall a cost, or effect?

Power Wall - Regular Trap

If you receive battle damage due to a direct attack by an opponent's monster, you can send any number of cards from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard. Decrease the amount of battle damage by 100 for each card sent to the Graveyard by this effect.
Next

Return to Rules, Guides & Articles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron