The Official GCG Rulings topic. (Anime/GCG rules & FAQs)

Read Only
Rules for the game & forums, as well as some handy guides and articles.
User avatar
Master of Momentum
Master of Momentum
Posts: 750
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:54 pm

BYOND:
Valentine
Ace Card:
Stardust Dragon
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:23 am
do you mind explaining the brd chain, trying to see the difference between the wonder wand chain
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 2751
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:50 pm
Location: :noitacoL
BYOND:
Elle_Pendragon
Ace Card:
Toon Alligator
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:34 am
Wolfgang DelaSangre wrote:Topic is stickied, so I don't think it counts as necroposting.

Actually, it goes the other way around. Sending Wonder Wand and the equipped monster to the Graveyard is a cost to activate the Draw 2 effect. It's already created its Chain Link. Gravekeeper's Recruiter would become Chain Link 2.


This is not correct.

Trigger effects only go on chain in a case of SEGOC, where multiple triggers are trying to activate at the same time.
In all other cases - such as being triggered by the cost of an effect - they wait for any ongoing chains to resolve, and then start a new chain.
If Sangan is tributed for Enemy Controller, its effect doesn't chain to E-Con. Rather, it waits for the chain with E-Con in it to resolve, then activates.

BRD - Dandy and Wonder Wand are two entirely different things.

Black Rose Dragon - Dandylion:
You send Debris Dragon and Dandylion to the graveyard. Dandylion's effect triggers. However, as we're in the middle of Synchro Summoning, it can't activate just yet, and waits until it can.
Black Rose Drago is Summoned. Its effect also triggers.

Now we have two different effects trying to activate at the same time.
In the OCG, we use SEGOC to determine which effect is CL1. Mandatory effects like Dandylion go on CL1. Optional effects like BRD go on CL2.
In the TCG, we don't even need to make this distinction as Dandylion's effect triggered before BRD's, ensuring its spot on CL1. (Similar to how Sangan is always CL1 if it is tributed for Caius. YGO wikia has a piece about this on its SEGOC page if you're not sure how this bit works).
In both cases, BRD is CL2, Dandylion is CL1. If your opponent has no response, the result is the field being nuked, and then the tokens are summoned.

Wonder Wand - Recruiter:
You send Recruiter and Wonder Wand to the grave to activate Wonder Wand's effect. Recruiter's effect triggers, but just like Dandylion, we're in the middle of a chain. It can't simply activate now, and waits.
Wonder Wand resolves, you draw 2. Then, Recruiter can activate.
User avatar
Master of Momentum
Master of Momentum
Posts: 750
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:54 pm

BYOND:
Valentine
Ace Card:
Stardust Dragon
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:29 am
cool, mind going further explaining SEGOC?
User avatar
Game Admin
Game Admin
Posts: 8089
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: I Have To Return Some Video Tapes
BYOND:
Eiza Redux
Ace Card:
Devoted Love
Guild:
THEM
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 8:39 am
Simultaneous Effects Go On a Chain.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:26 pm
Ah, all right. Okay, my mistake.
User avatar
Master of Momentum
Master of Momentum
Posts: 750
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:54 pm

BYOND:
Valentine
Ace Card:
Stardust Dragon
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:00 am
CB vs rose?
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:27 am
sceptilelegend wrote:CB vs rose?


What's CB? It's been a while since I've actually played, I don't know any of the abbreviations anymore.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:32 pm

BYOND:
Shepardj
Ace Card:
Voltic Bicorn
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:27 am
Wolfgang DelaSangre wrote:
sceptilelegend wrote:CB vs rose?


What's CB? It's been a while since I've actually played, I don't know any of the abbreviations anymore.


Holy shit, Wolf's still alive.
User avatar
It's over 2000!
It's over 2000!
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:29 am
Location: The Hunter's Dream
BYOND:
Ace of Aces Broken
Ace Card:
New Orders 13 Etheric Amen
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:18 am
Shepardj wrote:
Wolfgang DelaSangre wrote:
sceptilelegend wrote:CB vs rose?


What's CB? It's been a while since I've actually played, I don't know any of the abbreviations anymore.


Holy shit, Wolf's still alive.


DMG's personal Jesus Christ...
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:40 am
More or less. I'm going to assume CB stands for Crystal Beast.

If the Crystal Beast is face-up and a monster card, then you can crystallize it- that is, turn it into a Continuous Spell- if Black Rose nukes the field. If it's face-down or is already a Continuous Spell Card, then it can say "Hello" to an open grave with its name on the stone, cuz Rose is gonna burn it with all of its angsty fire.
PreviousNext

Return to Rules, Guides & Articles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron