Skill Drain does not work that way (Guide)

Read Only
Rules for the game & forums, as well as some handy guides and articles.
User avatar
Super Special Awsome
Super Special Awsome
Posts: 1151
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Behind u >:)
BYOND:
Yudai Yubel
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:48 pm
I mean suck tricky rulings like that...
People usually guess that u cant do anything :/
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:32 pm

BYOND:
Shepardj
Ace Card:
Voltic Bicorn
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:45 pm
Let me get this thread straight. Jrm wanted forum mod so he can patrol Cards & Decks section because he believes he's AMAZING at card rulings.

This thread comes rolling along, minding its own business. Jrm decides to play hero because he's SOOOOOO good at rulings! He comes in and tries to prove Tri's whole thread wrong. He doesn't understand the difference in the texts of Skill Drain and Decree. He doesn't understand the concept of effects never moving. So, he vows never to give up! Because a good soldier will always charge head-first into battle, even if he's losing!

Amiright so far?

I am? Good. Moving on, then. Jrm then goes on to dick-tuck out of the conversation come page 3! Sound the horn, fire the flares! Full retreat, ladies and gentlemen! The thread devolves from there.

All-in-all, Jrm can't understand simple card text - something even I can understand and I'm not even a TM. Not only has it brought to light this fact, but it also created a helpful guide for later use! Pack up your bags and don't let the door hit you guys on the way out, folks. The show's over, this thread has served its purpose!

On-topic: Nice guide, Tri.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:54 pm
See, this is why I take issue with Jrms always correcting me. It's not that he isn't right himself (he usually is), it's that every time he does it, he says something that can easily be interpreted as, "I'm infallible." For example, he's told me that I should not question him ever. He's quite fallible as he IS human.

And yeah, this is a good guide. I doubt it will become invalid for a long time, if ever.
User avatar
Game Admin
Game Admin
Posts: 8089
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: I Have To Return Some Video Tapes
BYOND:
Eiza Redux
Ace Card:
Devoted Love
Guild:
THEM
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:25 am
Yes, yes, we know Jrm is just a Wolfgang with a different colored name. Let's talk about Skill Drain now.

Jinzo vs. Skill Drain, please, enlighten me.
User avatar
Satellite Trash
Satellite Trash
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:21 am

BYOND:
TrinityWolf
Ace Card:
Dark Magician of Chaos
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:27 am
-Eiza- wrote:Yes, yes, we know Jrm is just a Wolfgang with a different colored name. Let's talk about Skill Drain now.

Jinzo vs. Skill Drain, please, enlighten me.


Depends which is activated first.

Drain first and then jinzo makes jinzo negated. Vice-versa if Jinzo was first.
User avatar
Game Admin
Game Admin
Posts: 8089
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: I Have To Return Some Video Tapes
BYOND:
Eiza Redux
Ace Card:
Devoted Love
Guild:
THEM
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:28 am
Alas, I am now a learned man.

Thread has served its purpose, let's keep it that way.
User avatar
Satellite Trash
Satellite Trash
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:21 am

BYOND:
TrinityWolf
Ace Card:
Dark Magician of Chaos
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:29 am
-Eiza- wrote:Alas, I am now a learned man.

Thread has served its purpose, let's keep it that way.


School is now in session kids. Shiny apples will not get you anywhere in this thread. ;)

Remember to take notes and any sort of tomfoolery shall be dealt with by the shogun eiza.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:10 am
Location: Location:
BYOND:
Tri Fox
Ace Card:
Archlord Christia
Guild:
Overworld
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:37 am
More accurately, if SD is on the field and you summon Jinzo, Jinzo is negated.

If Jinzo is on the field, you can't even activate SD because Jinzo says 'lolnah'.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:11 am
Also, though I don't know if there's any such card that could do it, if Skill Drain's effect is negated while Jinzo is face-up on the field, then Jinzo's effect becomes active (note, I did not say it activates, I said it becomes active; it's a Continuous effect, after all), and Skill Drain will remain negated until such a time as Jinzo goes away, is flipped face-down, or gets hit by something like Effect Veiler or Forbidden Chalice.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:10 am
Location: Location:
BYOND:
Tri Fox
Ace Card:
Archlord Christia
Guild:
Overworld
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:14 am
Trap Stun and then summon Jinzo.
PreviousNext

Return to Rules, Guides & Articles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron