Skill Drain does not work that way (Guide)

Read Only
Rules for the game & forums, as well as some handy guides and articles.
User avatar
Domino Citizen
Domino Citizen
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: England, UK
BYOND:
Yueryuu
Ace Card:
Counselor Lily
PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:39 am
I'm not too sure how else to explain it...

Let's run with my "normal" and "unusual" thread.

Debris Dragon has the text: "When this card is Normal Summoned, you can Special Summon 1 monster with 500 or less ATK from your Graveyard in Attack Position. That monster's effect(s) is negated."

The following ruling is relevant:
- When a monster like "Exiled Force" is Special Summoned by "Debris Dragon"/"Black Salvo"/etc, if you activate the effect of "Exiled Force", then the effect will still be negated since it activated on the field, even though "Exiled Force" is no longer on the field.
(Source: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Debris_Dragon)

Again, take into account that effects resolve where they activate. Exiled Force's effect is negated because the negation effect only cares that it is the effect of the targeted Exiled Force, at the time of activation. Exiled Force is no longer face-up on the field or identified as the targeted monster after activation, but that effect is negated because when the effect was activated it was the effect of the targeted Exiled Force and the effect remains on the field as the effect of the targeted Exiled Force.

If
[ Chain Rule Statement ]
- {negation card} has resolved before {card to be negated}'s effect has resolved
[ Standard Negation Statements ]
- it is a {type of card to be negated}
- regardless of where that {type of card to be negated} is after activation
[ Card-Specific Range Statements ]
- {if specific conditions are fulfilled}
{negation card} can negate it.

This is a standard for negation which only negates the effects of an card, but not the activation. This standard "effect-only" negation is the type of negation which Royal Decree has. Effectively, the negation part of Royal Decree's effect reads as, "Negate the effects of all other Trap Cards..."

The "on the field" portion of Decree's effect doesn't dictate how it interacts with effects, but rather what effects it can interact with. In other words, it only acts as a range limiter.
If...
[ Chain Rule Statement ]
- Royal Decree has resolved before the Trap Card's effect has resolved
[ Standard Negation Statements ]
- it is a Trap Card
- regardless of where that Trap Card is after activation
[ Card-Specific Range Statements ]
- the effect was activated on the field
Royal Decree can negate it.

On the other hand, Skill Drain's "face-up" condition is an unusual range limiter.
If
[ Chain Rule Statement ]
- Skill Drain has resolved before the Effect Monster's effect has resolved
[ Negation Statement ]
- it is an Effect Monster Card
[ Card-Specific Range Statements ]
- the effect was activated on the field
- the same monster (as per game mechanics) is still face-up on the field during the effect's resolution
Skill Drain can negate it.

Edit: Fixed some typos.
Image

It's over 2000!
It's over 2000!
Posts: 2203
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Fantasyland
BYOND:
Konata-Chan
Ace Card:
Six Samurai Hermit
Guild:
Six9
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:02 pm
What about Debris summoning Card Trooper? Card Trooper will get to mill, and idk how though. D:

It's more like summoning Exiled Force thru Debris, though. :O
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 8107
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 am
Location: Some rock where Krypton used to be.
BYOND:
Wolfgang DS
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 4:47 pm
Sending cards from the top of your deck to the Graveyard is a cost to activate Card Trooper's effect. That's how it can still mill stuff, Kona.

It's over 2000!
It's over 2000!
Posts: 2203
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Fantasyland
BYOND:
Konata-Chan
Ace Card:
Six Samurai Hermit
Guild:
Six9
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:08 am
In your article, you should add in that Gladiator Beasts are able to tag while Skill Drain is face-up, but the tagged in Gladiator Beast will not gain it's effect. Why? It's a cost like Card Trooper.

Most people do not understand or are confused with this ruling so I suggest that this should be in your first post. D:
User avatar
Super Special Awsome
Super Special Awsome
Posts: 1151
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Behind u >:)
BYOND:
Yudai Yubel
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 5:18 pm
How about Razion?
Will he keeps hes God Powa of ''Come and get at me, brah.''
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:30 pm

BYOND:
Darkblade986
Ace Card:
Fabled Raven
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:23 pm
Assuming you're talking about "Raiza, the Storm Monarch," its effect will be negated by Skill Drain. Congratulations on Summoning 2400 points of vanilla.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 2751
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:50 pm
Location: :noitacoL
BYOND:
Elle_Pendragon
Ace Card:
Toon Alligator
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:46 pm
Razion's effects are completely negated by Skill Drain. He can be destroyed, you will take battle damage from battles involving him, and your opponent does not take damage when drawing. You can summon monsters and he is not returned to the deck during your S Phase.

I don't understand why you would ask a question like this, since it's pretty obvious.
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:10 am
Location: Location:
BYOND:
Tri Fox
Ace Card:
Archlord Christia
Guild:
Overworld
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:04 am
Well at least this guide is still valid. o3o
User avatar
Super Special Awsome
Super Special Awsome
Posts: 1151
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Behind u >:)
BYOND:
Yudai Yubel
Ace Card:
Shooting Star Dragon
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:32 pm
Tri Fox wrote:Well at least this guide is still valid. o3o


Still...


*Didnt know about Depris and trooper*
We could need a all rulings thread which
speaks about the rulings like the one wirh Depris and Trooper
Go go TM-s! 8E
User avatar
Former Moderator
Former Moderator
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:30 pm

BYOND:
Darkblade986
Ace Card:
Fabled Raven
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:18 pm
What ruling?

Both cards still allow you to "activate" the effect and send cards to the graveyard as a cost. Neither will give it ATK, however.

Both cards still allow it to Draw a card when it's destroyed.

What's there to rule on?
PreviousNext

Return to Rules, Guides & Articles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron